Fifth British Mathematical Colloquium

This was held at Durham: 8 - 10 September 1953     

The enrolment was 146.    The chairman was Milne-Thomson and the secretary was J V Whitworth.

Minutes of meetings, etc. are available by clicking on a link below

General Meeting Minutes for 1953

Committee Meeting Minutes for 1953

The plenary speakers were:

Rado, RExistence combinatorics -- order in chaos
Walker, A GDifferential geometry in the large

The morning speakers were:

Barratt, M GThe calculation of homotopy groups
Cooper, J L BCritical point methods of functional analysis
Mahler, KTransformation of analytic functions by rational functions
Pitt, H RConvergence of Fourier series
Rankin, R AThe Minkowski-Hajos theorem on linear forms and the factorisation of abelian groups
Stone, A HCoverings of topological spaces
Weston, J DConvolution algebras
Whitehead, J H CThe elements of homotopy theory
Wright, E MA problem about prime numbers