Eighth British Mathematical Colloquium

This was held at St Andrews: 4 - 6 September 1956     

The enrolment was 175.    The chairman was E T Copson and the secretary was D Borwein.

Minutes of meetings, etc. are available by clicking on a link below

General Meeting Minutes for 1956

Committee Meeting Minutes for 1956

The plenary speakers were:

de Rham, G WElementary solutions of certain differential equations
Hayman, W KThe modern approach to Riemann surfaces
Weil, AComplex multiplication of elliptic and abelian functions

The morning speakers were:

Aitken, A CSchur's dissertation of 1901
Cockcroft, W HConstructions
Collingwood, E FCluster sets
Edge, W LClassical groups in finite geometry
Fröhlich, ANormal number fields of degree 8
Mirsky, LAdditive prime number theory
Offord, A CThe theory of probability in analysis
Robertson, A PA class of topological vector spaces
Willmore, T JIntegrable structures on differentiable manifolds