Twenty eighth British Mathematical Colloquium

This was held at Aberystwyth: 7 - 9 April 1976     

The enrolment was 365.    The chairman was A O Morris and the secretary was T P McDonough.

Minutes of meetings, etc. are available by clicking on a link below

General Meeting Minutes for 1976

Committee Meeting Minutes for 1976

Special Committee Meeting Minutes for 1976

The plenary speakers were:

Harder, G On the cohomology of discrete arithmetically defined groups
Lions, J L A survey of optimal controls of distributed parameter systems
Seidel, J J Spherical codes and designs

The morning speakers were:

Aschbacher, MThin finite simple groups
Evans, W DSelf-adjointness of Hamiltonian operators
Haydon, R GSome injective objects in functional analysis
Hitchin, N JSpinors in differential geometry
Lewis, D JDiophantine problems and permutation groups
McConnell, JGroups, rings and Lie algebras: some interactions
Nash-Williams, C St J AGraphs
Odoni, R W KHow primes behave in number fields
Preston, G BSome recent work in inverse semigroups
Rosenberg, HCurvature of knots and surfaces
Scott, PThree-manifolds and groups of low cohomological dimension
Swinnerton-Dyer, H P FJustifying small parameter theory
Tennison, B ROn the cohomology of algebraic varieties: Deligne's version of Hodge theory
Wehrfritz, B A FRepresentation of soluble groups
Williams, DThe Q-matrix problem
Williamson, J HSymmetry and assymmetry in group algebras
Wood, RFraming Lie groups
Yates, C E MBanach-Mazur games, comeager sets and degrees of unsolvability