Thirty fourth British Mathematical Colloquium

This was held at Bangor: 31 March - 2 April 1982     

The enrolment was 246.    The chairman was R Brown and the secretary was D J Wright.

Minutes of meetings, etc. are available by clicking on a link below

General Meeting Minutes for 1982

Committee Meeting Minutes for 1982

Memorandum on Finance: March 1982

The plenary speakers were:

Gorenstein, D Reworking the classification of finite simple groups
Smale, S Computational complexity and classical mathematics
Yau, S T Non-linear equations in differential geometry

The morning speakers were:

Bertrand, DAlgebraic aspects of transcendental number theory
Clarke, F WInteger-valued polynomials and K-theory
Collins, D JCancellation diagrams in group theory
Dineen, SHolomorphic functions on nuclear spaces
du-Plessis, AGeometry and singularities
Greaves, GA survey of sieves
Hirschfeld, J W PCharacteristic problems of finite projective spaces
Jategaonkar, A VLocalisation in non-commutative Noetherian rings
Lloyd, N GClosed orbits of differential equations
Mirrlees, J AEconomic dynamics: growth and expectations
Morris, A OReflection groups and their representations
Morton, K WFinite element methods and optimal estimation
Mulvey, CGlobalising the Hahn-Banach theorem
Neumann, P MSimple groups from Galois to Jordan
Rand, DDynamic systems and turbulence
Stone, MHazards of infinity in probability and statistics
Wainer, S SRecursion theoretic hierarchies
Waldhausen, FThickenings