The Frederic Esser Nemmers Prize in Mathematics

Erwin Esser Nemmers and his brother Frederic Esser Nemmers left $14 million on their deaths to Northwestern University to fund a range of prizes equal in status to the Nobel Prizes. However the money was insufficient for this purpose so, until the fund builds up further, only two prizes are being awarded, one in economics and one in mathematics. They are given for:-
... work of lasting significance ...
and recognize
... major contributions to new knowledge or the development of significant new modes of analysis.
The Frederic Esser Nemmers Prize in Mathematics

1994 Yuri I Manin

1996 Joseph B Keller

1998 John H Conway

2000 Edward Witten

2002 Yakov G Sinai

2004 Mikhael L Gromov

2006 Robert P Langlands

JOC/EFR November 2019 School of Mathematics and Statistics
University of St Andrews, Scotland
university crest