Mathematical Presidents of the Royal Society

The list below is of Presidents of the Royal Society who are in our archive.

1662-1677 William, Viscount Brouncker
1680-1682 Sir Christopher Wren
1703-1727 Sir Isaac Newton
1871-1873 Sir George Biddell Airy
1878-1883 William Spottiswoode
1885-1890 Sir George Gabriel Stokes
1890-1895 Lord Kelvin (Sir William Thomson)
1905-1908 John William Strutt, Lord Rayleigh
1990-1995 Sir Michael Atiyah

MacTutor links:

Royal Society of London
History of the Royal Society
Fellows of the Royal Society

Royal Society Prizes etc:

Royal Medal
Sylvester Medal
Copley Medal
Bakerian Lectures

Other Web site:

Royal Society Web site

JOC/EFR School of Mathematics and Statistics
University of St Andrews, Scotland
university crest