The series of International Congresses of Mathematicians began in Zürich in 1897 and except for the war years they have been held about every four years since. We have detailed reports of the Congresses from 1950 to 1990 below.

Cambridge USA: 1950
Amsterdam: 1954
Edinburgh: 1958
Stockholm: 1962
Nice: 1970
Vancouver: 1974
Helsinki: 1978
Warsaw: 1983
Berkeley: 1986
Kyoto: 1990
You can see the main speakers and titles of their talks for ALL the Congresses at THIS LINK.

The Fields medals have been presented at every Congress since 1936

You can see the recipients at THIS LINK.

Main MacTutor index ICM Index

JOC/EFR November 2019 School of Mathematics and Statistics
University of St Andrews, Scotland