Committee Meeting Minutes for 1965

Minutes of the meeting of the Committee of the British Mathematical Colloquium, held at Queens College, Dundee at 9 p.m. on Thursday 8th April 1965.
  1. Professor J Clunie was appointed Chairman.
  2. Dr T Kövari was nominated as Secretary for 1966, and co-opted to the Committee.
  3. The minutes of the 1964 Committee meeting were read and approved.
  4. Dr Anderson reported:
    (a) No membership fee was charged in the case of invited speakers and Dundee members.
    (b) The L.M.S. and the Edinburgh Mathematical Society distributed the leaflets for the Dundee meeting; the American Mathematical Society and the Vereinigung published a note concerning the meeting.
    (c) Donation of £10 was received from Mrs C Tanner and Dr R O Davies.
    (d) A grant of £25.10.0 was received from the British Council towards Prof Chevalley's expenses.
    (e) Prof Halmos's air fare was paid by the National Academy of Sciences (U.S.A.).
  5. It was decided that the card-index of the B.M.C. should be handed over to Dr Kövari, without bringing it uptodate, but with a corrected List of Members of the Dundee meeting.
  6. It was decided that the B.M.C. should pay the travel expenses of
    a) Prof. H Reiler
    b) Prof G Temple - provided that he can not obtain financial support from his own university.
  7. After some discussion it was agreed that the 1966 meeting should have the same type of programme as the 1965 one.
  8. Speakers for the 1966 meeting were discussed.
  9. Professor Weston confirmed the invitation from Swansea for 4th April - 8th April, 1967.

    Dr Hale invited the B.M.C. to meet at York in 1968. No final decision was reached on this subject.
  10. Dr Todd suggested that at future committee meetings the discussion of subjects should precede the discussion of speakers.
  11. The meeting closed at 10.45 p.m.
Minutes signed by J D Weston (undated).