General Meeting Minutes for 1967

A General Meeting of the British Mathematical Colloquium was held in the Mathematics-Physics building, University College of Swansea, at 2.15 p.m. on Thursday, 6 April, 1967.

Professor J D Weston was in the chair.
  1. The minutes of the 1966 General Meeting were read and approved.
  2. The accounts of the 18th Colloquium were approved.
  3. Professor H S Ruse invited the Colloquium to hold its next meeting at Leeds. The invitation was accepted with acclamation.
  4. The following retired from the Committee:-
    Prof F F Bonsall, Dr R W Carter, Dr D B A Epstein, Prof A M Macbeath, Dr P A Samet, Prof D B Scott.
    The following were elected to the Committee:-
    Prof W N Everitt, Dr B Kuttner, Prof W D Munn, Dr R L E Schwarzenberger, Dr J H Williamson, Prof T J Willmore.
  5. It was announced that the Committee would meet at 8.30 p.m. in Dining Room E in College House.
  6. Professor J D Weston made a statement concerning the negotiations between the B.M.C. and the L.M.S. (see sheet attached). The statement was approved.

    [ It shall be a duty of the organizers of the British Mathematical Colloquium to communicate to the London Mathematical Society brief reports and announcements concerning the Colloquium, for publication in the Society's Journal, and such other information as may be helpful to the Society in planning its programme of meetings. The reports and announcements shall be communicated also to the Edinburgh Mathematical Society and, at the discretion of the Chairman, to any other society that might wish to publish information about the Colloquium (for instance, the American Mathematical Society). For its part, the London Mathematical Society undertakes to publish the reports and announcements with all possible speed and at its own expense. The report of a Colloquium held in late March or early April can be expected to appear in the Journal for July of the same year; the form of the report should be generally similar to that which appeared in the Journal for July 1966.]
  7. Attention was drawn to the fact that Dr Todd was now the only person who had attended every Colloquium. It was proposed and seconded that this should be be recognised by the creation of the office of Honorary President, of which Dr Todd should be the holder. This resolution was carried enthusiastically and unanimously.
Minutes signed by A W Goldie (undated).