General Meeting Minutes for 1970

A General Meeting of the British Mathematical Colloquium was held in the Physics Lecture Theatre, University of York at 2 p.m. on Thursday, 9th April, 1970.

Professor J H Williamson was in the chair.
  1. The minutes of the 1969 meeting at Birmingham were read and approved.
  2. The chairman welcomed the guest speakers, Professor A C Zaanen, Professor A Robinson, Professor J-P Serre and Dr N Th Varopoulos.
  3. The accounts of the 21st Colloquium were approved.
  4. Professor M E Noble invited the Colloquium to hold its next meeting at the University of Kent, Canterbury from Monday, 29th March to Friday, 2nd April, 1971. The invitation was accepted with acclamation.
  5. The following retired from the committee:
    Prof J F Adams. Dr D E Edmunds, Prof K W Gruenberg, Prof A M Macbeath, Prof G C Shephard, Dr R A Smith and Prof A C Offord.
    The following were elected to the committee:
    Dr J H Conway, Mr C J Graddon, Dr J M Howie, Mr J E Reeve, Prof G E H Reuter, Dr J A Todd and Dr E W Wallace.
  6. It was announced that the committee would meet at 8.30 p.m. in Langwith College Senior Common Room.
  7. The decisions taken at the last committee meeting to increase the registration fee for membership of the colloquium and, if the number of late cancellations of accommodation increased further, to require deposits on reservation of accommodation were brought to the attention of the meeting.
  8. In view of the difficulties of finding adequate lecture room accommodation which the steady increase in membership might create, the committee was authorised to look into the question of sectionalisation; it was however urged that there should be no restriction of the scope of mathematical topics presented.
  9. A preliminary announcement was made of the proposed dates for the colloquia to be held in 1972, 1973 and 1974.
  10. Sir Edward Collingwood proposed a vote of thanks to the University of York and to the chairman, secretary and others who had helped in the arrangements for the Colloquium.
Minutes signed by M E Noble (undated).