General Meeting Minutes for 1976

A General Meeting of the British Mathematical Colloquium was held in the Great Hall of the University College of Wales, Aberystwyth at 2.00 p.m. on Thursday, 8th April, 1976.

Professor A O Morris was in the chair.
  1. The Chairman welcomed the guest speakers Professor G Harder, Professor J L Lions and Professor J J Seidel.
  2. The Chairman drew attention to the death of Professor T Flett and the Colloquium asked the Chairman to write to Mrs Flett and to express its sympathy and condolences.
  3. The minutes of the General Meeting at the University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne were read and approved.
  4. The accounts of the 27th Colloquium were approved.
  5. On behalf of University College, London, Professor D G Larman invited the 1979 Colloquium to London. The probable dates would be 3rd - 7th April, 1979. The invitation was accepted with acclamation.
  6. The following retired from the Committee:
    Dr T S Blyth, Professor R F Churchhouse, Dr A M Davie, Dr M J Dunwoody, Professor B E Johnson, Dr N Ray, Professor R L E Schwarzenberger and Dr R A Walton.
    The following were elected to serve on the Committee:
    Dr W D Evans, Dr R Haydon, Mr B M Hurley, Dr Ü Kuran, Profesor I G Macdonald, Dr P McMullen, Dr J D P Meldrum and Professor D A R Wallace.
  7. It was announced that the Committee would meet at 8.00 p.m. in Rendel Library, Penbryn.
  8. The Chairman gave a brief description of the reasons for the LMS/EMS proposal on linking the Colloquium with the Societies and referred to a special meeting of the committee which decided unanimously to recommend the acceptance of these proposals. After a few questions from the floor, a vote agreeing to the committee's recommendations was carried almost unanimously.
  9. Professor D A R Wallace proposed a vote of thanks to the Chairman, Secretary and others who had helped in the organisation of the Colloquium.
Minutes signed by J D P Meldrum (undated).