Committee Meeting Minutes for 1977

Minutes of the meeting of the Committee of the British Mathematical Colloquium, Pollock Halls, Edinburgh, 8 p.m. 30 March 1977.

Dr J W Baker, Prof A W Goldie, Mr B M Hurley, Dr G J O Jameson, Dr Ü Kuran, Prof I G Macdonald, Dr P McMullen, Dr J D P Meldrum, Dr A Oswald, Mr P A Rado, Mr J E Reeve, Dr G P Scott, Dr D Singmaster, Dr A Slomson, Prof D A R Wallace, Dr R M W Wood, Dr P L Walker.
  1. Dr Jameson was elected chairman.
  2. Dr Walker was co-opted as secretary for the meeting.
  3. The minutes of the committee meeting on April 8, 1976 in Aberystwyth were read and approved.
  4. Matters arising
    1) Files. It was agreed that records of the previous five years colloquia should be sent on to Lancaster, while earlier records would be lodged by Dr Meldrum with the Edinburgh Mathematical Society.
    2) Films. It was agreed that in 1978, films should if possible be shown on one afternoon and one evening.
    3) The Forum on Mathematics Education was considered to have been successful, and should be repeated in 1978.
    4) It was reported that accounts for the 1977 colloquium were not complete but that it was hoped they would show a small profit. It was agreed that the colloquium in Lancaster should aim to break even rather than show a further profit.
  5. 1978 Colloquium in Lancaster
    1) It was confirmed that the 1978 colloquium would be held on 5, 6 and 7th April.
    2) The question of whether to hold a reception for the speakers and committee was left to the organisers to decide.
    3) It was decided to continue the present pattern of lectures with 9 morning sessions with two speakers in parallel, and 3 afternoon lectures.
    4) The committee then discussed topics and speakers for 1978, and it was decided that the division of topics should be:
    5 Analysis, 3 Topology, 4 Algebra, 2 Number Theory, 1 Geometry, 1 Combinatorics, 1 Logic, 1 Probability.
  6. Future meetings.
    It was confirmed that meetings for 1979 and 1980 would be at University College London, and Sheffield, respectively.
  7. A.O.B.
    The chairman thanked Drs Meldrum and Lenagan for their work in organising a most successful Colloquium.
Minutes signed by G A Rogers (undated).