Scientific Committee Meeting Minutes for September 2017

Minutes of the meeting of 5 September 2017 Burnside Room, De Morgan House 2pm
  1. Welcome, confirmation of membership

    Phil Rippon (Open) until 31 May 2020.
    LMS representatives:
    Sarah Rees (Newcastle) until 31 May 2019. Maud Devisscher (City) until 31 May 2020. Constanze Roitzheim (Kent) until 31 May 2020. EdMS representatives:
    Sophie Huczynska (St Andrews) until 31 May 2020. Michael Wemyss (Glasgow) until 31 May 2020. Durham (2017):
    Andrew Lobb, Alexander Stasinski.
    St Andrews (2018):
    Colva Roney-Dougal, Mike Todd (Nik Ruskuc attending).
    Lancaster (2019):
    Jan Grabowski, Tony Nixon.
    Representative of the 2017 BMC:
    Oscar Randal-Williams (Cambridge) until 30 September 2017.
    Ex officio:
    Fiona Nixon (Executive Secretary of the LMS), Elizabeth Fisher or Anthony Byrne (LMS).

  2. Apologies for absence

    Maud Devisscher, Jan Grabowski, Sophie Huczynska, Andrew Lobb, Colva Roney-Dougal, Alexan- der Stasinski, Mike Todd.

  3. Chair's report

    The new chair welcomed new members and reminded the Committee of its role in providing oversight and continuity into the running of the BMC, sharing knowledge from one BMC to the next, seeking future venues, and ensuring that records of the BMC are kept and recorded on the St Andrews MacTutor website.

  4. Minutes of Scientific Committee meeting at Durham on 6 April 2017

    The minutes were confirmed with no matters arising.

  5. Minutes of AGM at Durham on 4 April 2017

    The minutes were confirmed with no matters arising.

  6. Academic and Financial Report on the BMC at Durham, 3 6 April 2017

    A copy of the report on the Durham BMC to the LMS was received. The Committee members who had attended agreed that BMC 2017 had been a very successful meeting with a high standard of plenary and morning talks.
    The organisers supplied some feedback of advice to future organisers, based on their experi- ence, mainly to keep close track of invitations to morning speakers and workshop speakers, and to be sure that all co-organisers request titles and abstracts well in advance.

  7. Update on plans for BMC in St Andrews 11-14 June 2018

    Nick Ruskuc confirmed that the plenary speakers will be:
    Laura De Marco (Northwestern), Irit Dinur (Weizmann), Martin Hairer (Warwick), Nalini
    Joshi (Sydney), Paul Seymour (Princeton) and Marcelo Viana (IMPA).
    The workshops are to be: Algebra, Analysis and Probability, Combinatorics, Dynamics and
    LMS Scheme 3 groups with involvement are expected to be North British Geometric Group
    Theory Seminar, North British Semigroups and Applications Network, and Ergodic Theory. Funding had been received or promised from the LMS, Glasgow Mathematical Society, Clay
    Institute, and the Heilbronn Institute.

  8. Plans for BMC in Lancaster 8-11 April 2019

    Four plenary speakers are confirmed with two more to go, and a public lecture arranged, with a plan for the morning lectures. Accommodation and lecture halls are booked, and costs are reasonable. At least five workshops are planned, one of will be Mathematics Education.

  9. Future BMCs

    The chair reported on ongoing discussions regarding the possibility of a joint BMC/BAMC meeting in 2020. Some time after the meeting (in November) it was confirmed that the University of Glasgow will hold a BMC/BAMC meeting from 6th April – 9th April 2020.

  10. Other meetings

    It was reported that the YRM (Young Researchers in Mathematics) 2018 meeting would be held at the University of Southampton.

  11. Any other business

    The Chair expressed thanks for their contributions to the retiring members of the Committee: John Hunton, Andrew Lobb, Alexander Stasinski, Oscar Randal-Williams and David Jordan) especially David Jordan for his period as Chair of the committee.

  12. Date of next meeting (at St Andrews BMC)

    To be arranged.
Phil Rippon, 10 June 2018