The Anna and Lajos Erdős Prize in Mathematics

This prize was first awarded in 1977 and was, at that time, known as the Erdős Prize. The name was changed in 1996 to the Anna and Lajos Erdős Prize reflecting the original wish of Paul Erdős. Anna and Lajos Erdös were Paul Erdős's parents. The prize is awarded to an Israeli mathematician in an institution of higher education in Israel, in the fields of theoretical mathematics or computer science, who was under the age of 41 as of 31 May in the award year. The chairman of the jury making the award is appointed by the Committee of the Israel Mathematical Union. The prize is awarded at the Union's annual conference and the recipient is invited to lecture on their work to that conference. We give the list of winners of this prize below:
1977 Saharon Shelah, Hebrew University

1979 Ilya Rips, Hebrew University

1981 Ofer Gabber, Tel Aviv University

1983 Adi Shamir, Weizmann Institute of Science

1985 Shmuel Kiro, Weizmann Institute of Science

1987 Yosef Yomdin, Ben Gurion University

1989 Noga Alon, Tel Aviv University

1990 Alexander Lubotzky, Hebrew University

1992 Gil Kalai, Hebrew University

1994 Ehud Hrushovski, Hebrew University

1996 Oded Schramm, Weizmann Institute of Science

1998 Leonid Polterovich, Tel Aviv University

2000 Shachar Mozes, Hebrew University

2001 Zeev Rudnick, Tel Aviv University

2002 Ran Raz, Weizmann Institute of Science

2003 Zlil Sela, Hebrew University

2004 Semyon Alesker, Tel Aviv University

2006 Paul Biran, Tel Aviv University

2007 Yehuda Shalom, Tel Aviv University

2008 Gady Kozma , Weizmann Institute of Science

2009 Elon Lindenstrauss, Hebrew University

2010 Boaz Klartag, Tel Aviv University

2011 Tamar Ziegler, The Technion

2012 Irit Dinur, Weizmann Institute of Science

2013 Omri Sarig, Weizmann Institute of Science

2014 Eran Nevo, Ben Gurion University

2015 Mike Hochman, Hebrew University and Shiri Artstein-Avidan, Tel Aviv University

2016 Emanuel Milman, The Technion

2017 Nir Lev, Bar Ilan University

2018 Ronen Eldan, Weizmann Institute of Science

2019 Lev Buhovski, Tel Aviv University