Ferran Sunyer i Balaguer Prize

The prize is awarded for a mathematical monograph of an expository nature presenting the latest developments in an active area of research in Mathematics, in which the author has made important contributions. The prize, amounting to 12,000 euros, is provided by the Ferran Sunyer i Balaguer Foundation. It is named after the disabled Catalan mathematician Ferran Sunyer i Balaguer (1912-1967).

1992 Alexander Lubotzky for the monograph:
Discrete Groups, Expanding Graphs and Invariant Measures.

1993 Klaus Schmidt for the monograph:
Dynamical Systems of Algebraic Origin.

1994 The scientific committee decided not to award the prize

1995 As from this year prizes will bear the year they are awarded, rather than the year they were announced.

1996 V Kumar Murty and M Ram Murty for the monograph:
Non-Vanishing of L-Functions and Applications.

1997 A Böttcher, T U Chemnitz and Y I Karlovich for the monograph:
Carleson Curves, Munchenhoupt Weights, and Toeplitz Operators.

1998 Juan J Morales-Ruiz for the monograph:
Differential Galois Theory and Non-integrability of Hamiltonian Systems.

1999 Patrick Dehornoy for the monograph:
Braids and Self-Distributivity.

2000 Juan-Pablo Ortega and Tudor Ratiu for the monograph:
Hamiltonian Singular Reduction

2001 Martin Golubitsky and Ian Stewart for the monograph:
The Symmetry Perspective

2002 Alexander Lubotzky and Dan Segal for the monograph:
Subgroup Growth

2002 André Unterberger for the monograph:
Automorphic Pseudodifferential Analysis and Higher-level Weyl Calculi

2003 Fuensanta Andreu-Vaillo and José M Mazón for the monograph:
Parabolic Quasilinear Equations Minimizing Linear Growth Functionals

2004 Guy David for the monograph:
Singular sets of minimizers for the Mumford-Shah functional

2005 Antonio Ambrosetti, and Andrea Malchiodi for the monograph:
Perturbation Methods and Semiliniar Elliptic Problems on Rn

2005 José Seade for the monograph:
On the topology of isolated singularities in analytic spaces

2006 Xiaonan Ma and George Marinescu for the monograph:
Homomorphic Morse inequalities and Bergman kernels

2007 M Rosa Miró-Roig for the monograph:
Lectures on Determinantal Ideals

2008 Luis Barreira for the monograph:
Dimension and Recurrence in Hyperbolic Dynamics

2009 Tim Browning for the monograph:
Quantitative Arithmetic of Projective Varieties

2010 Carlo Mantegazza for the monograph:
Lectures Notes on Mean Curvature Flow

2011 Jayce Getz for the monograph:
Hilbert Modular Forms with Coefficients in Intersection Homology and Quadratic Base Change

2012 Angel Cano and Jose Seade for the monograph:
Complex Kleinian Groups

2013 Xavier Tolsa for the monograph:
Analytic capacity, the Cauchy transform, and non-homogeneous Calderón-Zygmund theory

2014 Veronique Fischer and Michael Ruzhansky for the monograph:
Quantization on Nilpotent Lie Groups

Not awarded

2016 Vladimir Turaev for the monograph:
Monoidal Categories and Topological Field Theory

2016 Alexis Virelizier

2017 Antoine Chambert-Loir, Johannes Nicaise, Julien Sebag

2018 Michael Ruzhansky, Durvudkhan Suragan

2019 Not awarded