Winners of the Hannan Medal

The Hannan Medal is awarded by the Australian Academy of Science to an outstanding researcher in the three fields of statistical science, pure mathematics, and applied mathematics including computational mathematics. It is awarded every second year and the award rotates round these three fields.

The award is named for Edward James Hannan (1921-1994) who studied at the studied at the University of Melbourne advised by Patrick Alfred Pierce Moran (1917-1988). After the award of his Ph.D., Hannan was a Statistician at the Commonwealth Reserve Bank from 1949 to 1953. Appointed to the Australian National University in Canberra in 1954, he was a Fellow in Statistics 1954-1958, Professor of Statistics in the School of General Studies 1959-1971, and Professor of Statistics in the Institute of Advanced Studies 1971-1986. In 1970 he was elected to the Australian Academy of Science and won their Thomas Ranken Lyle Medal in 1979.

Winners of the Hannan Medal.


Peter G Hall, University of Melbourne, for Statistical science.

Christopher C Heyde, Australian National University, for Statistical science.


Neil S Trudinger, Australian National University, for Pure mathematics.


Anthony J Guttmann, University of Melbourne, for Applied and computational mathematics.


Adrian J Baddeley, University of Western Australia, for Statistical science.


J Hyam Rubinstein, University of Melbourne, for Pure mathematics.


Richard P Brent, Australian National University, for Applied and computational mathematics.


Eugene Seneta, University of Sydney, for Statistical science.

Citation: Eugene Seneta has done much seminal work in probability and statistics in connection with branching processes, the history of probability and statistics, and in such diverse areas as slowly varying functions, Bonferroni type bounds on probabilities of unions of sets, on modelling of the price of a risky asset, and in the scaling of Higher School Certificate marks. The implications of some of his research are considerable. The algorithm which Eugene produced for scaling Higher School Certificate marks in the early 1980 was later used to determine the New South Wales Tertiary Entrance Rank.


E Norman Dancer, University of Sydney, for Pure mathematics.

Citation: Norman Dancer is an expert in nonlinear analysis and nonlinear differential equations. He has made important contributions to bifurcation theory, to degree theory in cones and to nonlinear elliptic partial differential equations and their applications. He has introduced many new techniques and used them to solve old classical problems, including problems in water waves and combustion theory. His ideas have had a major effect on nonlinear analysis internationally.


Colin Rogers, University of New South Wales, for Applied and computational mathematics.

Citation: Colin Rogers has made major contributions in the detection of hidden invariance and symmetry properties in nonlinear mathematical systems descriptive of complex physical processes. He is recognised as a leading world authority on B├Ącklund and reciprocal type transformations and has demonstrated their extensive application in nonlinear continuum mechanics in such diverse areas as elasticity, magnetogasdynamics liquid crystal and soliton theory.


Matthew Wand, University of Technology, Sydney, for Statistical science.

Citation: Matt Wand's main research focus is non-linear statistical models and methodology for high-dimensional and complex data, in the face of rapid technological change. Much of this research incorporates ongoing developments in Machine Learning. His contributions are multifaceted and involve applications, theory, methodology and publicly available software. Whilst most of Wand's research is generic, areas of application that have driven some his research include public health, computational biology and the natural environment.


Alan McIntosh, Australian National University, for Pure Mathematics.

Citation: Professor McIntosh works at the boundary between harmonic analysis and partial differential equations, two pillars of modern mathematics and physics. He is famous for having given with his collaborators the final answer to the Kato conjecture, a question raised in 1961 which puzzled specialists for 40 years. The techniques that he and his co-workers have developed have revolutionised the way we analyse the fundamental operators of physics.

Gus Lehrer, University of Sydney, for Pure Mathematics.

Citation: Professor Lehrer has made highly influential contributions to algebra and geometry. Among the highlights are his co-invention of the theory of cellular algebras in the decade's most highly cited Australian mathematical work, his development of "Howlett-Lehrer theory" to solve decomposition problems in algebra and geometry, and his development of "Springer-Lehrer theory", with geometric and algebraic applications. His recent joint solution of the second fundamental problem of invariant theory has resolved a question of 75 years standing.


Frank Robert De Hoog, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation, for Applied and computational mathematics.

Citation: Dr de Hoog is recognised internationally as having made highly original and insightful contributions to the advancement of applied, computational and industrial mathematics, and has contributed substantially to the mathematics profession. The importance and significance of his theoretical and applied contributions, and their flow, on contributions to the advancement of science and to improving the efficiency of industrial processes, have been recognised by various awards. The impact of his industrial research has been exceptional in terms of the speed of implementation by industry and the subsequent contributions to Australia's export economy.