The J H Michell Medal

The John Henry Michell Medal was instituted by ANZIAM (Australia and New Zealand Industrial and Applied Mathematics), a division of the Australian Mathematical Society, in 1999 for outstanding new researchers. The judges apply the following criteria: the researcher must have carried out distinguished research in applied and/or industrial mathematics where a significant proportion was carried out in Australia and/or New Zealand; the recipient must be within ten years of being awarded a Ph.D.; and the recipient must have been a member of ANZIAM for at least three years. The following is a list of those awarded the medal:

1999 Harvinder Singh Sidhu

2000 Antoinette Tordesillas

2001 Nigel Bean

2002 Stephen Lucas

2003 No award

2004 Mark Ian Nelson

2005 No Award

2006 Sanjeeva Balasuriya

2007 Yvonne Stokes

2008 Carlo Laing

2009 Scott McCue

2010 No Award

2011 Frances Y Kuo

2012 Matthew Simpson

2013 Terry O'Kane

2014 Ngamta Thamwattana

2015 Barry Cox

2016 Joshua Ross

2017 Alys Clark