Lucasian Chairs of Mathematics

The Lucasian Chair of Mathematics was founded in 1663 at Cambridge University as a result of a gift from
Henry Lucas, M.P. for the university.
The holders are listed below. Click on a link to go to the biography in our archive.

1664 Isaac Barrow
1669 Sir Isaac Newton
1702 William Whiston
1711 Nicolas Saunderson
1739 John Colson
1760 Edward Waring
1798 Isaac Milner
1820 Robert Woodhouse
1822 Thomas Turton
1826 Sir George Airy
1828 Charles Babbage
1839 Joshua King
1849 Sir George Stokes
1903 Sir Joseph Larmor
1932 Paul Dirac
1969 Sir M James Lighthill
1979 Stephen Hawking
2009 Michael Green
2015 Michael Cates

Other Web site:

The history of the Lucasian chair by Bob Bruen