NAS Award in Applied Mathematics and Numerical Analysis

The National Academy of Sciences, using funds provided by the IBM Corporation, made this award:-
... in recognition of outstanding work in applied mathematics and numerical analysis by a candidate whose research has been carried out in institutions located in North America.
The award was first made in 1972 and last made in 2002. The National Academy of Sciences discontinued the award in 2005.

1972 Kurt Otto Friedrichs
... for his outstanding contributions in applied mathematics, in numerical analysis, and in the unification of mathematical principles.
1973 Samuel Karlin
... for his brilliant and productive mathematical work encompassing genetics, economics, approximation theory, probability, and statistics, and game theory.
1976 Chia-Chiao Lin
... for his fundamental contributions to fluid mechanics, especially for his path-breaking work on stability of fluid flows.
1977 George B Dantzig
... for his pioneering and fundamental work in the theory and application of programming, operations research, and in mathematical modeling of economic systems.
1977 Martin D Kruskal

1980 George F Carrier
... for his innovative and imaginative use of mathematics in the solution of a wide variety of challenging and significant scientific and engineering problems.
1983 Peter D Lax
... for his penetrating, variegated, and fundamental contributions to mathematical theory and its applications to problems in functional analysis, numerical analysis, linear and non linear partial differential equations, wave propagation, and scattering theory.
1986 Oscar E Lanford III
... for his profound and penetrating solution of outstanding problems of statistical mechanics.
1989 Alexandre J Chorin
... for his numerous and deep investigations of scientific problems by means of computation and, in particular, for his development of the vorticity method for solving a wide variety of problems in fluid dynamics.
1992 Andrew J Majda
... for his extraordinary insight and invaluable contributions to the analysis and application of partial differential equations, especially to supersonic flow, combustion, vortex motion, and turbulent diffusion.
1995 Julian D Cole (shared)
... for his original and fundamental contributions to applied mathematics and numerical analysis. His work is characterized by its deep physical and mathematical insights.
1995 Joseph B Keller (shared)
... for his seminal contributions to applied mathematics, with special reference to his geometrical theory of diffraction and his work on water-wave propagation.
1998 Paul R Garabedian
... for his spectacular contributions to computational fluid dynamics, especially the mathematical design of the first shock-free transonic airfoil, and for future controlled thermonuclear fusion, the first stellarator with an almost smooth magnetic field.
2002 Heinz-Otto Kreiss
... for his seminal contribution to the understanding of differential and difference equations and for his many outstanding contributions to numerical analysis, fluid dynamics, and meteorology.

MacTutor links:

National Academy of Sciences

NAS Prizes:

NAS Award in Mathematics

Other Web site:

NAS Web site