NAS Award in Mathematics

The National Academy of Sciences Award in Mathematics was established by the American Mathematical Society in Commemoration of its Centennial. It is awarded:-
... for excellence of research in the mathematical sciences published within the past ten years.

1988 Robert P Langlands
... for his extraordinary vision, which has brought the theory of group representations into a revolutionary new relationship with the theory of automorphic forms and number theory.
1992 Robert MacPherson
... for his role in the introduction and application of radically new approaches to the topology of singular spaces, including characteristics classes, intersection homology, perverse sheaves, and stratified Morse theory.
1996 Andrew J Wiles
... for his proof of Fermat's Last Theorem by discovering a beautiful strategy to establish a major portion of the Shimura-Taniyama conjecture, and for his courage and technical power in bringing his idea to completion.
2000 Ingrid Daubechies
... for fundamental discoveries on wavelets and wavelet expansions and for her role in making wavelet methods a practical basic tool of applied mathematics.
2004 Dan-Virgil Voiculescu
... for the theory of free probability, in particular, using random matrices and a new concept of entropy to solve several hitherto intractable problems in von Neumann algebras.
2008 Clifford H Taubes
... for groundbreaking work relating to Seiberg-Witten and Gromov-Witten invariants of symplectic 4-manifolds, and his proof of Weinstein conjecture for all contact 3-manifolds.
2012 Michael J Hopkins
... for his leading role in the development of homotopy theory, which has both reinvigorated algebraic topology as a central field in mathematics and led to the resolution of the Kervaire invariant problem for framed manifolds.

MacTutor links:

National Academy of Sciences

NAS Prizes:

NAS Award in Applied Mathematics

Other Web site:

NAS Web site