The St Petersburg Mathematical Society
Young Mathematician prize

The St Petersburg Mathematical Society makes an annual award to a young mathematician for work of outstanding promise.

1962 V G Maz'ya
... for work on classes of sets and embedding theorems for functional spaces.
1963 B B Venkov
... for work on the homology of groups of units in division algebras.
1964 V S Buslaev
... for a study of short-wave asymptotics of the solution of the diffraction problem on a convex cylinder.
1965 A V Yakovlev
... for work on a field embedding problem in the homological algebra setting.
1965 V I Derguzov
... for work on the stability of solutions of operator Hamiltonian equations with periodic coefficients.
1966 A S Blagoveshchenskii
... for a study of well-defined characteristic problems for an ultra-hyperbolic equation.
1967 V P Orevkov
... for giving constructive analogues of the Brouwer theorem.
1968 V V Zhuk
... for work on a relation of structure properties of functions and functionals possessing the norm property.
1970 Yu V Matiyasevich
... for work on a Diophantic property of recursively enumerable sets.
1971 S A Vinogradov
... for a number of works on interpolation theorems.
1973 Ya M Eliashberg
... for a number of works on global singularity theory.
1974 Yu A Davydov
... for a number of works on limit theorems for Markov random processes.
1975 N A Shirokov
... for work on uniform approximation of functions on closed sets without corner points.
1975 O Ya Viro
... for works on topology in codimension two.
1976 B S Tsirel'son
... for works on the theory of stochastic differential equations and Banach geometry.
1976 E M Dyn'kin
... for works on the properties of a solution of non-homogeneous Cauchy-Riemann system.
1977 A A Suslin
... for giving a solution of J-P Serre's problem.
1977 M D Sterlin
... for giving estimations of constants in inverse theorems of the constructive function theory.
1978 L N Gordeev
... for work on constructive models in the classical set theory.
1978 S V Khrushchev
... for works on analytical functions theory.
1980 N E Barabanov
... for giving periodic solutions in control systems.
1980 N L Gordeev
... for a study of arithmetic problems in Galois theory.
1980 O I Reinov
... for an approximation p-th order property of a Banach space.
1981 A R Its
... for finite-gap and isodromic solutions of equations of nonlinear Schrödinger type.
1981 E D Gluskin
... for works on the geometry of Minkowski spaces.
1982 A S Merkur'ev
... for works on algebraic K-theory.
1982 V V Peller
... for works on Hankel operators.
1983 E K Sklyanin
... for a study of some algebraic structures related to the Young-Baxter equation.
1984 D Yu Grigor'ev, A L Chistov
... for giving fast algorithms for polynomial expansions and solutions of algebraic systems.
1984 V L Kobel'skii
... for work on models of high-dimensional links.
1985 M L Lifshits
... for a study of the distribution of functionals on trajectories of random processes.
1987 M Yu Lyubich
... for work on iterations of rational mappings of the Riemann sphere.
1987 Yu G Safarov
... for works on spectral asymptotics of elliptic operators.
1988 N Yu Reshetikhin
... for work in representation theory for solutions of the Young-Baxter equation.
1988 V A Kaimanovich
... for a study of boundaries of random walks on groups.
1989 A A Borichev
... for convolution equations and an asymptotic holomorphic function.
1989 O T Izhboldin
... for a study of torsion in Milnor groups.
1990 A I Barvinok
... for a study of representation theory methods in optimization.
1991 G Ya Perel'man
... for a study of Aleksandrov's spaces of curvature bounded from below.
1992 D Yu Burago
... for work on periodic Riemannian metrics.
1992 I B Fesenko
... for work on higher theory of class fields.
1993 F L Nazarov
... for work on uncertainty principle type inequalities in harmonic analysis.
1994 S M Shimorin
... for factorisation of analytical functions in Bergman weight spaces.
1995 S V Ivanov
... for a study of periodic Riemannian metrics.
1996-1997 O L Vinogradov
... for work on some exact inequalities in approximation theory.
1996-1997 S K Smirnov
... for approximation by vector fields and structure of solenoids.
1996-1997 T N Shilkin
... for work on regularity of solutions of some problems in mechanics.
1998 A B Pushnitskii
... for works on the spectral shift function.
1998 N V Tsilevich
... for works on Poisson-Dirichlet measures.
1999 G B Mikhalkin
... for work on real algebraic curves, moment map, and amoebas.
2000 O V Demchenko
... for giving arithmetical properties of the Hilbert pairing on formal Honda groups.
2001 A V Malyutin
... for works on braid groups.
2001 S G Kryzhevich
... for works on the theory of perturbed linear systems of ordinary differential equations.
2002 A G Ershler
... for a study of asymptotics of characteristics of random walks on solvable groups.
2003 A N Zinoviev
... for giving generalized explicit Artin-Hasse and Iwasawa formulas.
2004 A D Baranov
... for giving Bernstein-type inequalities for model spaces, and their applications.
2004 D S Chelkak
... for a study of the inverse problem for a perturbed harmonic oscillator.
2005 O A Tarakanov
... for a study of shadowing of pseudotrajectories.
2006 N V Durov
... for a method of calculation of the Galois group for a polynomial with rational coefficients.
2007 V A Petrov
... for work on motives of the homogenious projective spaces, and applications.
2007 K V Pervyshev
... for work on semantic complexity classes.
2008 V V Vysotskii
... for a study of limit theorems for stochastic models of interacting particles.
2008 A Yu Luzgarev
... for work on overgroups of exceptional groups
MacTutor links:

St Petersburg Mathematical Society

St Petersburg Mathematical Society Prizes, etc:

St Petersburg Mathematical Society Young Mathematician Prize
St Petersburg Mathematical Society Honorary Members

Other Web site:

St Petersburg Mathematical Society Web site