LMS Hirst Prize and lectureship

The London Mathematical Society first decided to award a prize for contributions to the history of mathematics as a part of the celebrations to mark the LMS 150th Anniversary.

It has since been decided that the prize will be awarded biannually.

The prize is named after Thomas Hirst who was the first Vice-president and the fifth President of the LMS and whose diary gives valuable insights into the lives of mathematicians of the 19th Century.

Prize winners

2015 John J O'Connor and Edmund F Robertson
... for their creation, development and maintenance of the MacTutor History of Mathematics web site.
2018 Jeremy Gray
... for his research and books on the history of mathematics, especially differential equations and geometry in and around the nineteenth century.

MacTutor links:

London Mathematical Society
History of the LMS
Presidents of the LMS
LMS Presidential Addresses
LMS Honorary Members

LMS Prizes etc:

LMS De Morgan Medal
LMS Berwick Prize
LMS Whitehead Prize
LMS Senior Whitehead Prize
LMS Naylor Prize
LMS Pólya Prize
LMS Frölich Prize
LMS Shephard Prize
LMS Ann Bennett Prize
LMS Hirst Prize

Other Web sites:

LMS Web site
LMS prizewinners