IMU Rolf Nevanlinna Prize

The International Mathematical Union awards the Rolf Nevanlinna Prize once every 4 years at the International Congress of Mathematicians. It is awarded for:-

... outstanding contributions in Mathematical Aspects of Information Sciences including:
  1. All mathematical aspects of computer science, including complexity theory, logic of programming languages, analysis of algorithms, cryptography, computer vision, pattern recognition, information processing and modelling of intelligence.
  2. Scientific computing and numerical analysis. Computational aspects of optimization and control theory. Computer algebra.

The prize is financed by the University of Helsinki. The recipient must be under 40 years of age.

1982 Robert Tarjan

1986 Leslie Valiant

1990 A A Razborov

1994 Avi Wigderson

1998 Peter W Shor

2002 Madhu Sudan

2006 Jon Kleinberg

2010 Daniel Spielman

2014 Subhash Khot

2018 Constantinos Daskalakis

MacTutor links:

International Mathematical Union
Fields Medal
DMV/IMU Gauss Prize
Nevanlinna Prize
Leelavati Prize
Chern Medal
Emmy Noether Lecture

Other Web site:

IMU Web site