ICM Emmy Noether Lecture

The ICM Emmy Noether Lecture (formally not an award) honours women who have made fundamental and sustained contributions to the mathematical sciences.


Since 2014, a special commemorative plaquette is given to each Emmy Noether Lecturer.

1994 Olga Ladyzhenskaya

1998 Cathleen Synge Morawetz

2002 Hesheng Hu

2006 Yvonne Choquet-Bruhat

2010 Idun Reiten

2014 Georgia Benkart
... for her fundamental contributions to several branches of Lie Theory.

2018 Sung-Yung Alice Chang
... for her leading contributions to harmonic analysis, geometric analysis, differential geometry and partial differential equations.

MacTutor links:

International Mathematical Union

IMU Prizes:

Fields Medal
DMV/IMU Gauss Prize
Nevanlinna Prize
Leelavati Prize
Chern Medal
Emmy Noether Lecture

Other Web sites:

IMU Web site