Bôcher Prize of the AMS

The Bôcher Memorial Prize was founded in memory of Professor Maxime Bôcher with an original endowment of $1,450. It is the oldest of the prizes offered by the American Mathematical Society.

It is awarded every five years for a notable research memoir in analysis that has appeared during the past six years in a recognized North American journal. This provision, introduced in 1971 and modified in 1993, is a liberalization of the original terms of the award. It is now awarded every three years.

1923 George D Birkhoff
... for his memoir "Dynamical systems with two degrees of freedom".
1924 Eric Temple Bell
... for his memoir "Arithmetical paraphrases. I, II".
1924 Solomon Lefschetz
... for his memoir "On certain numerical invariants with applications to Abelian varieties".
1928 James W Alexander
... for his memoir "Combinatorial analysis situs".
1933 Marston Morse
... for his memoir "The foundations of a theory of the calculus of variations in the large in m-space".
1933 Norbert Wiener
... for his memoir "Tauberian theorems".
1938 John von Neumann
... for his memoir "Almost periodic functions and groups. I, II".
1943 Jesse Douglas
... for his memoirs "Green's function and the problem of Plateau", "The most general form of the problem of Plateau", and "Solution of the inverse problem of the calculus of variations".
1948 A C Schaeffer and D C Spencer
... for their memoir "Coefficients of schlicht functions. I, II, III, IV".
1953 Norman Levinson
... for his contributions to the theory of linear, nonlinear, ordinary, and partial differential equations contained in his recent papers.
1959 Louis Nirenberg
... for his work in partial differential equations.
1964 Paul J Cohen
... for his paper "On a conjecture of Littlewood and idempotent measures".
1969 I M Singer
... in recognition of his work on the index problem, especially his share in two joint papers with Michael F Atiyah "The index of elliptic operators. I, III".
1974 Donald S Ornstein
... in recognition of his paper "Bernoulli shifts with the same entropy are isomorphic".
1979 Alberto P Calderón
... in recognition of his fundamental work on the theory of singular integrals and partial differential equations, and in particular for his paper "Cauchy integrals on Lipschitz curves and related operators".
1984 Luis A Caffarelli
... for his deep and fundamental work in nonlinear partial differential equations, in particular his work on free boundary problems, vortex theory and regularity theory.
1984 Richard B Melrose
... for his solution of several outstanding problems in diffraction theory and scattering theory and for developing the analytical tools needed for their resolution.
1989 Richard M Schoen
... for his work on the application of partial differential equations to differential geometry, in particular his completion of the solution to the Yamabe Problem in "Conformal deformation of a Riemannian metric to constant scalar curvature".
1994 Leon Simon
... for his profound contributions toward understanding the structure of singular sets for solutions of variational problems.
1999 Demetrios Christodoulo
... for his contributions to the mathematical theory of general relativity.
1999 Sergiu Klainerman
... for his contributions to nonlinear hyperbolic equations
1999 Thomas Wolff
... for his work in harmonic analysis.
2002 Daniel Tataru
... for his fundamental paper "On global existence and scattering for the wave maps equations".
2002 Terence Tao
... for his recent fundamental breakthrough on the problem of critical regularity in Sobolev spaces of the wave maps equations "Global regularity of wave maps I. Small critical Sobolev norm in high dimensions" and "Global regularity of wave maps II. Small energy in two dimensions".
2002 Fanghua Lin
... for his fundamental contributions to our understanding of the Ginzburg-Landau equations with a small parameter.
2005 Frank Merle
... for his fundamental work in the analysis of nonlinear dispersive equations.
2008 Alberto Bressan
... for his fundamental works on hyperbolic conservation laws;
... for his many fundamental contributions to different areas of analysis;
Carlos Kenig
... for his important contributions to harmonic analysis, partial differential equations, and nonlinear dispersive PDE.
2011 Gunther Uhlmann
... for his fundamental work on inverse problems; and to Assaf Naor for introducing new invariants of metric spaces and for applying his new understanding of the distortion between various metric structures to theoretical computer science.
2014 Simon Brendle
... for his outstanding solutions of long standing problems in geometric analysis including the solution with R. Schoen of the differentiable sphere theorem (JAMS 22 2009) and the solution of the Lawson conjecture (to appear Acta Mathematica 2013). Brendle is also recognized for his deep contributions to the study of the Yamabe equation.
2017 András Vasy
... for his fundamental paper, "Microlocal analysis of asymptotically hyperbolic and Kerr-de Sitter spaces", Inventiones Mathematicae, 194 (2013), 381-513
2020 Camillo De Lellis
... for his innovative point of view on the construction of continuous dissipative solutions of the Euler equations, which ultimately led to Isett's full solution of the Onsager conjecture, and his spectacular work in the regularity theory of minimal surfaces, ...

MacTutor links:

History of the AMS
Presidents of the AMS
AMS Colloquium Lecturers
AMS Gibbs Lecturers

AMS Prizes:

AMS/SIAM Birkhoff Prize
AMS Bôcher Prize
AMS Cole Prize in Algebra
AMS Cole Prize in Number Theory
AMS Conant Prize
AMS Fulkerson Prize
AMS Satter Prize
AMS Steele Prize
AMS Veblen Prize
AMS Wiener Prize

Other Web site:

AMS Web site