Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize of the AMS

Joan S Birman established this prize in 1990 in honour of her sister Ruth Lyttle Satter. It was aimed at recognising research achievement and also to encourage women working in mathematics.

1991 Dusa McDuff
... for her outstanding work during the past five years on symplectic geometry.
1993 Lai-Sang Young
... for her leading role in the investigation of the statistical (or ergodic) properties of dynamical systems.
1995 Sun-Yung Alice Chang
... for her deep contributions to the study of partial differential equations on Riemannian manifolds and in particular for her work on extremal problems in spectral geometry and the compactness of isospectral metrics within a fixed conformal class on a compact 3-manifold.
1997 Ingrid Daubechies
... for her deep and beautiful analysis of wavelets and their applications.
1999 Bernadette Perrin-Riou
... for her number theoretical research on p-adic L-functions and Iwasawa theory.
2001 Karen E Smith
... for her outstanding work in commutative algebra.
2001 Sijue Wu
... for her work on a long-standing problem in the water wave equation.
2003 Abigail Thompson
... for her outstanding work in 3-dimensional topology.
2005 Svetlana Jitomirskaya
... for her pioneering work on non-perturbative quasiperiodic localization, in particular for results in her papers (1) "Metal-insulator transition for the almost Mathieu operator", and (2) with J Bourgain "Absolutely continuous spectrum for 1D quasiperiodic operators".
2007 Claire Voisin
... for her deep contributions to algebraic geometry, and in particular for her recent solutions to two long-standing open problems: the Kodaira problem ("On the homotopy types of compact Kähler and complex projective manifolds") and Green's Conjecture ("Green's canonical syzygy conjecture for generic curves of odd genus"; and "Green's generic syzygy conjecture for curves of even genus lying on a K3 surface".
2009 Laure Saint-Raymond
... for her fundamental work on the hydrodynamic limits of the Boltzmann equation in the kinetic theory of gases.
2011 Amie Wilkinson
... for her remarkable contributions to the field of ergodic theory of partially hyperbolic dynamical systems.
2013 Maryam Mirzakhani
... for her deep contributions to the theory of moduli spaces of Riemann surfaces.
2015 Hee Oh
... for her fundamental contributions to the fields of dynamics on homogeneous spaces, discrete subgroups of Lie groups, and applications to number theory.
2017 Laura DeMarco
... for her fundamental contributions to complex dynamics, potential theory, and the emerging field of arithmetic dynamics.
2019 Maryna Viazovska
... for her groundbreaking work in discrete geometry and her spectacular solution to the sphere-packing problem in dimension eight.

MacTutor links:

History of the AMS
Presidents of the AMS
AMS Colloquium Lecturers
AMS Gibbs Lecturers

AMS Prizes:

AMS/SIAM Birkhoff Prize
AMS Bôcher Prize
AMS Cole Prize in Algebra
AMS Cole Prize in Number Theory
AMS Conant Prize
AMS Fulkerson Prize
AMS Satter Prize
AMS Steele Prize
AMS Veblen Prize
AMS Wiener Prize

Other Web site:

AMS Web site